For more than 25 years Magnus Jarlbo has been working as a filmcomposer. He has composed music for many well-known, award-winning films and TV series. Many of these having traveled far outside Sweden’s borders. Beyond, A Soap, The Hidden Child, the Danish TV series The Legacy and documentaries Ballroom Dancer and Long-Distance Love are just a few examples. Included in the many directors Magnus has collaborated with are Pernilla August, Lisa Ohlin, Pernille Fischer Christensen, Per Åhlin, Anders Gustafsson, Magnus Gertten and Jessica Nettelbladt. Magnus Jarlbo started his musical career as a musician in various rock and jazz bands. He also worked extensively with theater music, both as a composer and as a musician.


had its premiere in December 2010, was a clear critical and audience success. At the Venice Film Festival, it attracted a lot of attention and was awarded the critic’s public award. Beyond was directed by Pernilla August, with Noomi Rapace in one of the lead roles. Magnus created the music in collaboration with Sebastian Öberg (former member of the Flesh Quartet). The film was also awarded the Nordic Council Film Prize 2011 and was Sweden’s nominee for the best non-English language film at the Oscars Gala 2012. Natasha Senjanovic wrote in her review in The Hollywood Reporter: “The music is unassumingly simple and haunting.”

Letters to a serial killer

One of the highest attended Swedish films of 2017 has been Manal Masris’ documentary Letter to a serial killer. The film has been praised by both audiences and reviewers. “Magnus Jarlbo’s music always hits the right feeling” wrote Annika Gustafsson in her review in Sydsvenska Dagbladet March 24, 2017. “Intimate and essential” wrote the Gothenburg Post, “Heartbreaking” wrote the Svenska Dagbladet.

The Legacy

The first season of the Danish success series The Legacy premiered on DR1 in 2014. Magnus Jarlbo, along with Sebastian Öberg, wrote the music. The director was Pernilla August. The premiere of the series was seen by 1.8 million Danish viewers. That same year, The Legacy received the award for best drama series and best manuscript at the FIPA Festival – Festival International de Programmes Audiovisual in Biarritz. The series has been sold to many countries, including the Benelux countries, Australia, the United States and the United Kingdom. It has received 10 Robert prizes in different categories. The roles include Trine Dyrholm, Jesper Christensen and Mikkel Boe Følsgaard. In connection with the Swedish premiere of SVT 1, Johan Croneman wrote in his review in DN: “Magnus Jarlbo and Sebastian Öberg have created a beautiful live soundtrack.” 

Ballroom Dancer

Magnus Jarlbo also wrote the music to Ballroom Dancer, a documentary by Christian Bonke and Andreas Koefoed, about the dancer Slavik Kryklyvyy and his struggle to reclaim the World Championship title in Latin Dance. The film was chosen to open the documentary film festival CPH: DOX in Copenhagen 2011. It was also voted Best Nordic Documentary Film in 2012 at the Nordic Panorama Film Festival in Oulo, Finland. In addition Ballroom Dancer was honored with a special jury prize at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York 2012. 

Long Distance Love

is a documentary by Magnus Gertten and Elin Jönsson. The film had its premiere in September, 2008. Among many other awards, it was nominated for Best Documentary at the Hamptons International Film Festival in New York in October 2009. “Exquisite, mood-laden compositions” Annika Gustafsson thought about Magnus Jarlbo’s original music, in her review in the Sydsvenskan newspaper, 20/11 2008.

A Soap

directed by Pernille Fischer Christensen, won both the debut prize and a Silver Bear at the Berlin Film Festival 2006, and also received a Robert nomination for Best Film Music in 2006. Magnus Jarlbo wrote the music in collaboration with Sebastian Öberg. The actors includened, amongst others, Trine Dyrholm and David Dencik.